By Jann Wiswall

In addition to its regular meeting, the Ellicottville Village Board held its annual organizational meeting on Monday, May 13, to appoint or reappoint officers and commissioners for the 2013-14 fiscal year.

Bob Brogcinski was reappointed as Deputy Mayor. Mary J. Klahn was reappointed Village Clerk, Village Treasurer, Registrar of Vital Statistics and Tax Collector. Harold Morton was reappointed DPW Superintendent and Howard Gifford was reappointed as Village Constable. Village Attorney Bob Simon of Backhaus & Simon was reappointed to his position, as was Village Engineer Mike Smith of Nussbaumer & Clarke. R.A. Mercer will remain as Village Accountants and Jason Paananen of Nussbaumer & Clarke will retain his position as Village Planner. Betsy Kerns will remain in the position of Acting Village Justice and Mary Schuster was reappointed as Village Court Clerk.

This year’s commissioners include: Budget Officer, Streets – Charles Coolidge; Zoning & Planning, Beautification – Patra Lowes; Parks, Refuse – Greg Cappelli; Water, Sewer – Bob Brogcinski; and Sidewalks, Parking – Sherman Wilkins

Some changes were made to the makeup of several other boards. The Village Planning Board reappointed Sheila Burrell to another five-year term. The Village Zoning Board of Appeals appointed Jody Bentley and Robby Wilkins to new five-year terms, and the Comprehensive Planning Committee added Greg Cappelli to its membership.

The board also approved an increase for mileage reimbursement when village employees are asked to use their personal vehicles for official village business. The new reimbursement rate will be $.56.5 per mile beginning July 1, 2013.

Regular Business: The board’s regular meeting included a report from DPW Superintendent Harold Morton, who noted that the department had been busy in April planting trees, mowing, patching holes in streets, installing benches around the village, mulching, sweeping, repairing equipment, replacing two non-functioning water meters and testing/maintaining village lagoons. Mayor Charles Coolidge said that some residents are not complying with village rules pertaining to brush piles, noting that some are leaving brush and other material on or near sidewalks long after the scheduled first Monday of the month pickup. To illustrate the problem, Constable Howard Gifford distributed photos he had taken at several locations. Coolidge suggested that warnings will have to be sent to violators who could also be fined.

Gifford reported that he issued 17 traffic summonses and eight warnings in the village in April. There were two open container complaints and one public urination complaint. His department also assisted the Sheriff’s Office with a hit-and-run incident and issued three parking tickets. Also, $945 was collected by the office for previously issued parking tickets.

Village Engineer Mike Smith said that building permit requests are beginning to pick up and five permits were issued during the past month.

Smith also reported that:

The New York State DOT’s suggested plan for locating new water lines along Route 242 will not work given the location of gas lines. He said he will propose an alternative to the state.

FEMA has provided a preliminary response to the village/town floodplain study. The response will be reviewed by the Four Flushers and the floodplain project consultant this week, and an update will be provided to the board at the June meeting.

The NYS DEC has confirmed that the EPA reviewed its plans for the replacement of the wastewater treatment plant and will allow the DEC to proceed without EPA involvement.

Other Business: Coolidge reported that he has been invited to join a county committee to address what to do with abandoned or unused buildings that may or may not be contaminated. The committee was convened by Crystal Abers, Cattaraugus County’s director of economic development, planning and tourism, and includes town supervisors, Olean Mayor Linda Witte and others.

Coolidge also reported that the village will allow residents to set up tables on the Town and Village Hall front lawn on Saturday, May 25 for the annual community-wide Lawn Sale. Permits, rules and regulations will be available from the mayor’s office soon.

The next meeting of the Village Board will be held on Monday, June 10 at 6 p.m. in the Town and Village Hall.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.