By Alicia Dziak

On March 22, Springville celebrates its local people and businesses at the Springville Area Chamber of Commerce (SACC) Annual Awards.

This year’s honorees include M&T Bank as Business of the Year, Dave Batterson as Citizen of the Year, and J.P. Oatman as Student of the Year.

Winners are selected by chamber members.

“Ballots are sent to all chamber members for voting,” explained Anne Cooper, chair of the 2014 chamber dinner. “They can select from the choices included or write in their own choice.”

Cooper adds that this is the first year the awards have honored a student.

“SGI (Springville Griffith Institute) sent us three names with brief bios and they were also included in the above ballot,” she said.

The awards dinner runs from 6-9 p.m. on March 22 and is open to the public. The event features a keynote address by Mitchell Martin, community representative for Sen. Patrick Gallivan, as well as music by Ken Kellner. Delicious food, of course, is also included.

“People should attend the event if they want to honor our 2014 award winners, learn more about the Springville Area Chamber of Commerce or learn about networking,” Cooper said.

Tickets are $40 per person or $75 per couple, and are available for preorder by calling (716) 592-4746 or at the door the night of the event.