Fifteen New Vision Health Professions students were honored in a ceremony at Olean General Hospital today.

New Vision Health Professions is an innovative and exciting elective for high school seniors who plan to attend college and major in a health-related field offered by Cattaraugus Allegany BOCES. The program is highly selective and only accepts 15 students each year. Students learn the theory components of anatomy and physiology, health care occupations, medical terminology, as well as select diseases.

New Vision students also complete Participation in Government, Economics and English Composition through the program. Taught at the college level, New Visions is offered on-site at Olean General Hospital and throughout the Olean community.

The Cattaraugus Allegany BOCES Olean Class of 2013 includes: Soumitri Barua, Allyson Ciesla, Hannah Derwick, Whitney Farrand, Marielle Giardini, Samantha Gross, Sophia Hendrix, Thao Huynh, Abraham Knieser, Courtney Lentz, Andrew Liu, Rachel McMahon-Eagan (Ellicottville), Allison Mehta, John Panus, and Caitlin Toth (Ellicottville).

Throughout the 2012-2013 school year, New Vision students have combined classroom instruction with observational clinical experiences by rotating throughout almost all of the departments at Olean General as well as visitations to a chiropractor, optometrist, podiatrist, Hospice and Home Care, the Pines Rehabilitation Center, Total Senior Care and the Cattaraugus County Department of Health.

“This is a wonderful program and I am so thrilled to be a part of it. Students gain so much experience and knowledge along with college credits. One of the benefits of this program is that students can make informed decisions about their future careers before spending their time and money in college,” Jennifer L. Militello, New Vision-Health Professions Teacher/Coordinator.

“We are honored to be able to offer the New Visions Health Program to these incredible young people from our region,” said Lynda Quick, CEO and District Superintendent, BOCES.

Special recognition was given to the following:

Most Clinical Hours Achieved – Thao Huynh

Excellence Award – Whitney Farrand

Most Congenial Award – John Panus

Most likely to be a doctor Award – Soumitri Barua

Service Excellence Award – Allyson Ciesla

Enrichment Award – Hannah Derwick