photo 3

By Jann Wiswall

Rick Jackson, co-owner of the Ilex Inn and an ERA Team VP real estate agent, and Steve Crowley, operations director at Holiday Valley, were formally sworn in as Town of Ellicottville board members at a special organizational meeting held on Wednesday, Jan. 8, 2014.

Both Jackson and Crowley were elected to four-year terms in November. This is Crowley’s second term and Jackson’s first. Jackson replaces John Northrup, who did not run for reelection. Other board members include Greg Fitzpatrick, president of Fitzpatrick and Weller, and Ken Hinman, owner of Hinman Contracting.

During the organizational meeting, the board went through a laundry list of items that need authorization by the board each year. None of the actions substantively differed from the previous year.

The board designated its official depositories and newspapers (including the Ellicottville Times) and set its regular board meetings to be held on the third Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m.

The board reappointed Fire Chief Kevin Morton as fire warden to the town; Kathleen Moriarty as town attorney; Robyn George and Tracy Stokes as registrar and deputy registrar of vital statistics, respectively; Ken Hinman as deputy supervisor; Don Auge as police officer-in-charge; Mark Alianello as town engineer; Harry Weismann as town assessor; Robyn George as town tax collector and town clerk; and Tracy Stokes as deputy town clerk.

Supervisor John Burrell was formally empowered to pay certain bills without board approval and to serve as signatory, with deputy supervisor Ken Hinman, on town supervisor bank accounts. Burrell, Hinman and Lindsey Coburn, the supervisor’s clerk, were approved to serve as signatories on the town clerk’s bank account and the real property tax collection bank account.

The board approved the annual salaries and pay rates of all elected officials and employees of the town and compensation for members of the town’s planning, zoning and assessment review boards. It also reappointed Margaret Signore and Art Chubb to the town planning board.

The board authorized the supervisor to contract with the Cattaraugus County Youth Bureau to run youth programs in 2014. It also approved the reappointment of Tronconi Segarra & Associates as the town’s CPA.

A number of procedural and organizational items also were authorized. Policies regarding town investments, procurement and employment were approved, as was the expense reimbursement policy.

The first regular meeting of the Ellicottville Town Board in 2014 will be held Wednesday, Jan. 15 at 6 p.m. in the village/town hall.