Eighteen 11th grade students and one 12th grader (Rebecca Hagon) were inducted into the Ellicottville Central School chapter of the National Honor Society at a ceremony held on Sunday, March 22 at the Great Valley Fireman’s Clubhouse.

The students include: Austin Bishop, Courtney Charlesworth, Brenna Cole, Elijah DeChane, Caitlyn Golley, Rebecca Hagon, Kaleigh Hunt, Cole Lapi, Jaelee Macomb, Cheyenne Maybee, Quinn O’Rourke, Max Paddock, Lindsey Robinson,k Robert Sawicki, Jr., Kaitlyn Smith, Shelby Spell, William Timkey, Shelby Toth and Leah Westfall.

“This is one of the largest groups of ECS students ever to be inducted in one year,” said ECS Superintendent Mark Ward.

Established in 1921, the National Honor Society (NHS) is the oldest and most respected student recognition organization in the United States, according to the NHS Web site. Membership in NHS distinguishes students who have committed themselves to the pursuit of academic excellence, community improvement and personal development. Local chapters, working with the national office, promote four pillars of excellence – Character, Scholarship, Leadership and Service – and strive to help students improve in all four areas.

Eligibility requirements include, at minimum: attending school in grades 10 through 12; maintaining a cumulative grade point average of 85 percent, B, 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale) or equivalent standard of excellence; demonstrating volunteer or service hours; preserving an excellent record of behavior in and out of school; and participating in leadership roles in school and/or community activities.