Town of Ellicottville Organizes for 2016

By Jann Wiswall

Matt McAndrew led his first official meeting of the town board on Monday, Jan. 4 as newly elected Town Supervisor. McAndrew, who was sworn in on Dec. 30, took office on Jan. 1.

The Jan. 4 meeting was the board’s annual reorganizational meeting, which is held to reappoint or appoint town representatives and adopt standard policies and procedures.

Although it wasn’t first on the agenda, the appointment of Mark Alianello as Town Highway Superintendent was the most significant new action taken by the board. McAndrew was authorized by the board to sign the contract with Alianello for the two-year term at $28,472/year for a minimum of 250 hours per year. (See related story, cover).

Alianello also was reappointed as Town Engineer, which specifies he work a minimum of 550 hours per year. His annual contract is for $51,528.

Per Alianello’s recommendation, the board appointed Frank Moore as Deputy Highway Superintendent.

The following additional actions were taken by the board:

Salaries for elected officials, including the Supervisor, were approved. McAndrew announced that he will forgo the health insurance benefit from the town since he is covered through his full-time job with the County’s Department of Public Works.

Board member Ken Hinman was appointed deputy town supervisor; Kathleen Moriarty was reappointed as town attorney; Harry Weissman was reappointed as the town’s assessor and Don Auge was reappointed Police Officer in Charge.

Robyn George was reappointed as town clerk and Tracy Stokes was reappointed as deputy town clerk and bookkeeper to the supervisor. George also was reappointed as town tax collector and registrar of vital statistics and Stokes will retain her role as summer recreational director and deputy registrar of vital statistics. Both George and Stokes were named official signatories on the clerk’s bank account and the real property tax collection bank account.

The board approved the town’s standard investment policy.

In discussion of the town’s procurement policy, Alianello informed the board that there are some significant changes to some state procurement policies that are not reflected in the town’s current policy. He suggested the board update the policy with Moriarty’s input. George noted that any changes to the policy must also be made in the town’s handbook.

Cathleen Pritchard was reappointed to the Board of Assessment Review, Jack Kramer was reappointed to the Zoning Board of Appeals (which still has one vacancy) and Sheri Barrera and Doc Dayton were reappointed to the Town Planning Board.

The first regular board meeting of the new year is scheduled for Wednesday, Jan. 20 at 6 p.m. in the Town/Village Hall.