Town Board Reorganizes for 2015
By Jann Wiswall
The Town of Ellicottville’s board formally appointed Loyd Hovey as Highway Superintendent at its special reorganizational meeting on Jan. 7. Hovey will serve out the rest of the late Dave Golley’s term, which ends on Dec. 31, 2015. The board also approved Hovey’s recommendation to appoint Frank Moore as deputy highway superintendent.
During the meeting, the board went through a long list of items that require annual authorization. The board designated its official depositories and newspapers (including the Ellicottville Times) and set its regular board meetings to be held on the third Wednesday of each month at 6 p.m.
The following individuals were reappointed to their posts: Fire Chief Kevin Morton and Deputy Fire Chief Rob Germain as fire wardens to the town; Peters & Moriarty as town attorney; Robyn George and Tracy Stokes as registrar and deputy registrar, respectively, of vital statistics; Ken Hinman as deputy supervisor; Don Auge as police officer-in-charge; Mark Alianello as town engineer; Harry Weissman as town assessor; Robyn George as town tax collector and town clerk; and Tracy Stokes as deputy town clerk and supervisor’s clerk.
Stokes also was appointed to fill the vacant position of Summer Recreational Director for the town and will receive a pay increase for the additional duties.
Supervisor John Burrell was empowered to pay certain bills without board approval and to serve as signatory, with deputy supervisor Ken Hinman, on town supervisor bank accounts. Burrell, Hinman, George and Stokes all were approved to serve as signatories on the town clerk’s bank account and the real property tax collection bank account.
The board approved the annual salaries and pay rates of all elected officials and employees of the town and compensation for members of the town’s planning, zoning and assessment review boards. It also authorized an increase of $10 in pay per meeting for planning and zoning board members.
The board authorized the supervisor to contract with the Cattaraugus County Youth Bureau to run youth programs in 2015. It also approved the reappointment of two firms as town CPAs.
A number of procedural and organizational items also were authorized. Policies regarding town investments, procurement and employment were approved, as was the expense reimbursement policy.
The next regular meeting of the town board is scheduled for Wednesday, Jan. 21 at 6 p.m. in the village/town hall.