Change Makeup of Mansfield Board

Voters Approve Casino Proposal


By Jann Wiswall

Voters throughout New York State decided for the controversial ballot proposal to authorize up to seven state-run casinos. In Mansfield, the final determination of winners depends on the results of absentee ballots, which will not be counted until early next week.

The casino amendment won by a statewide margin of 57 percent. In the 55 districts in Cattaraugus County, however, 59 percent of voters were against the proposal. All other counties in Western New York, including Allegany, Chautauqua, Erie, Niagara, Orleans and Wyoming Counties, also voted against the gaming measure.

In Mansfield, Patriot Party candidate Gregory L. Meyer likely will take a seat on the board in January. He received 119 votes, or 27.1 percent of votes cast. Patriot Party candidate Larry A. Johnson, with 111 votes, and incumbent Republican candidate James A. Hammond, with 110 votes, remain in a near dead heat for the remaining seat. The fourth candidate, incumbent Donald F. Mosher, likely was defeated after receiving 96 votes on election day.

Absentee ballots must have been postmarked by Monday, Nov. 4. The Board of Elections must allow time for any other ballots to be received in the mail before they can be counted.

Also in Mansfield, Acting Highway Superintendent Bradley D. Hurley defeated Jeffrey J. Williams in the election to select a new Highway Superintendent. Hurley received 51 percent (121 votes) of the vote to Williams’ 49 percent (116 votes).

More Results

In Great Valley, unofficial results show that Ann L. Rockwell and Ted LaCroix defeated Daniel R. Smith for the two open positions on its Town Council.  Official results will be announced after absentee ballots, if any, are counted.

Ellicottville elected the only two candidates running for its two open Town Council seats — Steven J. Crowley and Richard P. Jackson. Mansfield voters reelected Robert C. Keis for Town Supervisor, Betty Jane Horning for Town Clerk and Randy E. Alexander for Town Justice, all of whom were running unopposed.

In the 8th Judicial District of New York, Democrat Mark A. Montour defeated Republican Paul B. Wojfaszek for State Supreme Court Justice.

In Cattaraugus County, Republican Kevin M. O’Rourke was elected to the position of County Coroner, defeating Democrat David G. Siafakas by a vote of 8,522 to 2,203. The candidates for County District Attorney (Lori P. Reiman) and County Sheriff (Timothy S. Whitcomb) were running unopposed.

Ballot Proposals

In addition to voting Yes on Proposal Number One: Authorizing Casino Gaming, voters throughout the state made their choices on five other ballot measures.

Yes on Proposal Number Two: Additional Civil Service Credit for Veterans with Disabilities Certified Post-Appointment.

Yes on Proposal Number Three: Exclusion of Indebtedness Contracted for Sewage Facilities.

Yes on Proposal Number Four: Settling Disputed Title in the Forest Preserve.

Yes on Proposal Number Five: In Relation to a Land Exchange in the State Forest Preserve with NYCO Minerals, Inc.

No on Proposal Number Six: Increasing Age Until Which Certain State Judges Can Serve.