Eighteen Cattaraugus County students have won awards in the “I Love New York Agriculture” art and writing contest sponsored by New York Ag in the Classroom and the Farm Bureau Foundation for pre-K through sixth grade students.

Winning entries will be displayed at the New York State Fair this summer.

Placing first at the state level were Hunter Osgood (grade one) Franklinville Central School; Evelyn Britt (pre-K), Olivial Seiflein (grade two), and Amelie Metzger (grade three), all from Cattaraugus-Little Valley Central School; and Morganne Chapman (grade four) from Ellicottville Central School.

Second place in the state judging went to Sarah Elsigan (grade four) and Nichalos Yates (grade five), both from New Life Christian School in Olean.

Third place winners were Sarah Wright (grade six) from Franklinville Central School, and Gracie Hasselberg (grade three) New Life Christian School.

Receiving Honorable Mention at the state level were Haily Rzucek (kindergarten), Ellicottville; Sophie Ludwig (grade one), Cattaraugus-Little Valley; Kent Janara (grade two) and  Samantha Chesbro (grade three), Franklinville; Zachariah Durphy (grade four), New Life Christian School, Kaiya Johnson and Chloe Jaspersen (both grade five), New Life Christian School; Nathan McManis (grade six), Franklinville; and Taylor Burch, Pioneer Middle School.

Six hundred forty-four students from seven Cattaraugus County schools participated at the county level sponsored by the Cattaraugus County Farm Bureau Pro Education Committee.