By Rich Place

Steven Crowley (D, R) with 337 votes and John Zerfas (D, R) with 319 votes won seats on the Ellicottville Town Board on Tuesday after running unopposed for the two positions.

The two seats were the only items from the town of Ellicottville on the ballot during a quiet Election Day locally.

In the only countywide race in Cattaraugus County, Coroner Kevin M. O’Rourke (R) defeated Democratic challenger, Dr. Elwyn C. Clark of Olean by a 9,081-5,328 margin.

In unopposed races, District Attorney Lori P. Rieman won her re-election to a third four-year term with 12,489 votes on the Republican, Conservative and Independence lines. Sheriff Timothy S. Whitcomb won re-election to a third-four year term as well with 14,367 votes on the Democrat, Republican, Conservative and Independence party lines.

In other area town races:

In Ashford, unopposed councilmen candidates William Heim (R) and John Pfeffer (R) were elected to their seats with 390 and 342 votes, respectively.

In East Otto, Angela Sherman (D) with 210 votes and William B. Spors (R, I) with 149 votes defeated Robert Bowen (D), who garnered 116 seats, for two councilmen positions. Unopposed was supervisor candidate Anne Rugg (D, R), who received 237 votes; Deanna Bowen (D, R) for clerk with 238 votes; and highway superintendent candidate Thomas Benz (D, R) with 226 votes.

In Great Valley, Sandra Goode (R, C, I) earned one of two seats for councilman. In a closely contested race for the second seat, Rebecca Kruszynski (D) led Ann Rockwell (R, C, I) by only seven votes — a 286-279 tally — according to unofficial results provided Tuesday night.

In Humphrey, all races were uncontested with Mary Weber (R) winning the clerk seat with 130 votes; Christopher Klipich (R) winning the town justice seat with 114 votes; the highway superintendent seat going to Jason Pearl (R) with 125 votes; and Alan Morton (R) with 126 votes and Nancy Frazier (R) with 113 votes earning town councilmen spots.

In Little Valley, William Stoll (R, C, I) with 293 votes and Jerry Titus (R, C, I) with 274 votes won the two councilmen seats.

In Mansfield, all races were uncontested. Robert C. Keis Sr. (R) earned 120 votes for town supervisor; Betty Jane Horning (R) won the clerk seat with 152 votes; highway superintendent went to Bradley D. Hurley (R) with 141 votes; and the two town councilmen seats went to Larry Johnson (R) and Gregory Meyer Sr. (R) with 136 and 135 votes, respectively.

In Otto, all races were also uncontested. Winners were Ronald Wasmund (D) with 122 votes for supervisor; Trisha Priest (D, R) with 179 votes for clerk; Warren Dickinson Jr. (D, R) with 178 votes for justice; Robert Barber Jr. (R) with 163 votes for highway superintendent; and Marlene Gregory (R) with 136 votes and James Wojdan (D) with 93 votes for two councilmen seats.