ECS Team Completes Impressive Season

By Caitlin Croft

Photo by Ron Grucela

This past Sunday, U14/U12/U10/U8 athletes traveled to Buffalo Ski Club in Colden, NY, for the final race of the season.

The race was a Kombi event, a blend of Giant Slalom and Slalom, which is unique to this age division.

After the race the U14 Niagara Frontier Ski Council State Team was named.  The State Team consists of 14 boys and 14 girls; they qualified based on their place points earned all season.

Congratulations to Hayly Fredrickson and Alec Nolan for taking the top spots on the team.

The following men made the team from Holiday Valley as well.  Dalton Potter (2nd), Laz Rifkin (4th), Alexander Wojnowski (5th), Orry Shattenberg (7th), Reichen Morrisey (9th), Ross Fuller (11th) and Mitchell Azcarate (13th).

Two HoliMont men made the team as well, Lucas Johnson (3rd) and Austin Gyorgy (6th).

Between the two teams HV and HM had the top 7 men in the council.

The HV women to make the team along with Frederickson are Caroline DeRose (2nd), Cassidy Creager (3rd), Logan Fredrickson (4th), Lauren Thomas (5th) and Sierra Cappelli (7th).  Congrats to the HV women for taking 6 of the top 7 team positions!

Kate Masliwec from HoliMont also made the team this year.

Congrats to all of the U14 Athletes who competed this season!

In addition to naming the State Team, the council named the top skiers of the season.

The top U12 Female and Male were Alison Martin and Erik Shattenberg, both HV athletes.

The top U10 Female and Male were Carissa Dunlap of HoliMont and Garrett Goetz of Kissing Bridge.

Kudos to them for all of their hard work this season!

BSC Kombi Results:

U14 Women:  Caroline DeRose of Holiday Valley took the gold, followed by teammates Hayly Fredrickson (2nd), Lauren Thomas (3rd), Logan Fredrickson (4th) and Sierra Cappelli (5th).  Nyah Solly of HoliMont placed 9th with her best result of the season.

U14 Men: O Holiday Valley’s Alec Nolan won the race by 7 tenths of a second.  Dalton Potter, also Holiday Valley, took 2nd, followed by Laz Rifkin (4th), Alexander Wojnowski (5th), Reichen Morrisey (8th) and Orry Shattenberg (9th).

U12 Women: HoliMont’s Mary Catherine Mangan took first, followed closely by teammates Madalyn Cummings (2nd), Simona Muscarella (3rd), Charleigh Priestman (4th), Gianna Ferrara (7th), Claire Rintoul (8th) and Heather Dunlap (10th).  Congrats to these ladies for taking seven of the top ten!

Alison Martin of Holiday Valley took 5th and teammate Brianne Allegra placed 9th.

U12 Men: Holiday Valley’s Erik Shattenberg won yet again, as Ryan Scanlon placed (5th), Nicholas Koerber (9th) and Luke Petruzzi (11th).

HoliMont’s Ian McKenna took the silver followed by Aaron Gyorgy (3rd), Preston Blake (4th), Liam Ainslie (8th) and Peter McKenna (10th).

U10/U8 Women: HoliMont’s Mia Kerl was the fastest girl in her age group on the day! Teammates Jane Rathbun placed 4th, Olivia Cummings was 6th and Georgia Priestman took 9th.

Charlotte Harter of Holiday Valley took the bronze, followed by Sophia Goldberg (5th) and Molly DeRose (8th).

U10/U8 Men:  Dougie Basadur of HoliMont took the silver, as teammates Hans Solly took 3rd, Liam Hamel took 6th and Cody Preston took 9th.  Holiday Valley’s Beaudin Napolitano finished 4th, while Harry Scanlon came in 5th, John Black was 8th and Henry Black took 10th.

ECS Alpine Team at NYS Championships

On February 22-23, the Ellicottville Central School’s Alpine Race Team competed at Whiteface in Lake Placid, NY, for the New York State Championships.

Day one was a Slalom race and day two was Giant Slalom and, as usual, Whiteface lived up to its notorious nickname, “Ice Face.”

“Both days the conditions were icy and we had a few falls along the way, but all athletes got up and finished the race,” said head coach Kelly Fredrickson. Congratulations to all of the ECS athletes for a wonderful season!

Results were as follows:

Women’s Slalom: Hayly Fredrickson 15th, Logan Fredrickson 18th and Shelby Toth 41st.

Men’s Slalom: Orry Shattenburg 27th, Jesse Both 39th and Victor Rieman 41st.

Women’s Giant Slalom: Shelby Toth 44th, Logan Fredrickson 46th and Hayly Fredrickson 47th.

Men’s Giant Slalom: Orry Shattenberg 42nd and Jesse Both 44th.